KS2 Overview

Key stages

The national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS). At the end of each key stage, your child’s teacher will formally assess their performance to measure your child’s progress.


Key Stage 2 (Year 6) tests cover:

  • English reading
  • English grammar, punctuation and spelling
  • maths (including mental arithmetic)

The tests are taken in mid-May and last under 5.5 hours in total. You’ll get the results in July. If your child is demonstrating higher achievement then the headteacher may put them in for extra tests.

When your child reaches the end of Key Stage 2 the teacher will also give reports on your child’s progress in English, maths and science.

7 to 8 Year 3 KS2 Teacher assessments
8 to 9 Year 4 KS2 Teacher assessments
9 to 10 Year 5 KS2 Teacher assessments
10 to 11 Year 6 KS2 National tests and teacher assessments in English, maths and science