Key stages

The national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS). At the end of each key stage, your child’s teacher will formally assess their performance to measure your child’s progress.


5 to 6 Year 1 KS1 Phonics screening check
6 to 7 Year 2 KS1 Teacher assessments in English, maths and science

 Year 1 phonics screening check

The check will take place in June when your child will read 40 words out loud to a teacher. You’ll find out how your child did, and their teacher will assess whether he or she needs extra help with reading.

Key Stage 1 (Year 2) tasks and tests cover:

  • reading
  • writing
  • speaking and listening
  • maths
  • science

The tasks and tests are taken when the school chooses.

Your child’s teacher will use the child’s work to work out what level your child is at in each area.

You can ask for the results but they’re only used to help the teacher assess your child’s work.